Matriarch by Clara Wisner
Matriarch by Clara Wisner
The Crucible of Gaining Weight
0:00
-14:10

The Crucible of Gaining Weight

trustworthiness, appearances, and health

Last night, I saw a male spiritual teacher’s post that stated: “fat people are untrustworthy.”

He went on to claim that because excess weight is a result of “unmetabolized trauma” and “emotional numbing” fat people are avoiding “a necessary transformational crucible” (that would result in weight loss; I am assuming). 

On one hand; I partially agree. Not that fat people are untrustworthy, but what he’s saying about unmetabolized trauma, emotional numbing, and the need for a transformational crucible leading to weight gain. 

These things are absolutely a part of weight gain and excess weight, as it’s part of, I believe, all health dis-ease and disease. Any symptoms we experience are our bodies trying to communicate something to us, on multiple dimensions. Weight gain isn’t some sort of special shadowy case of this. 

I actually taught a class called the Wisdom of Weight about this specific thing. You can purchase the recording here if you’d like. 

The most important thing to me regarding trustworthiness is; anyone who has claimed to have metabolized all their trauma, to never take part in emotional numbing, and to not need a transformational crucible or five in their lifetime; is definitely NOT trustworthy.

We are all humans. 

Flawed, scarred, and hurting. 

It is what makes us human. 

Even humans considered enlightened; Tich Nhat Hanh or Ekhart Tolle. for example, talk about their painful human experience and struggle. 

The wound is where the light enters you, after all. 

Now, as an obviously overweight person who teaches and guides other people; in the field of nutrition, no less *gasp* (see my article, The Fat Nutritionist); being lumped into the category of untrustworthy doesn’t trigger me exactly, but it does make me want to set some truths about weight gain/loss and who we should or shouldn’t trust, straight. 

First off, I don’t take commentary on my body from anyone and I don’t advise anyone else to either. You get to be the arbiter of your own experience in your own body. The only advice about my health I take is from experts I’ve vetted and who I can feel trust my body’s process and it’s deep wisdom as much as I do, or have a very particular expertise that I am looking for in an acute, specific way. 

I don’t take advice about my body from men, ever, that’s one of my very clear boundaries. I would never go to a male doctor, a male OB (or let’s be honest for me, any OB), a male nutritionist, a male gynecologist (or any gynecologist). I will, in special instances, work with male body workers, therapists, or spiritual teachers, but for the most part anyone on my body care team is a woman. That’s just what makes my system feel smooth and feels true to me. 

Men and women have very different physiology, life experiences, and spiritual relationship to creation. Therefore, I generally don’t think men have a clear embodied understanding of what a woman’s body might need from a physiological perspective. 

My body and my own intuition are the ultimate litmus test that everything runs through, be it health decisions or how to handle symptoms. A huge piece of my work with clients is giving them information from my professional training and my embodied experience, and then pointing them to feel into their own Knowing about what to do with that information.

I am always pointing my clients back to themselves as the leader of their own health journey. 

The other piece of this is that weight gain/loss is so much more than discipline and calories in/out. I’m honestly so tired of even refuting these ideas. The confusing thing about this post I’m talking about is that this guy is basically saying: “don’t trust fat people because they have so much shadow, they can’t even discipline themselves into looking better.” 

Wow. Just wow. There are so many things wrong with this I could write a book on it. (maybe I will). 

The obvious first issue is the value placement on physical appearances. The idea that if you aren’t some vague and subjective ideal body size then you must be hiding something sinister and therefore unworthy of trust is so blatantly misogynistic and comes from a worldview that is obsessed with optics being what matters most. This is not the world I want to live in. It is not the world I am creating with my energy and my intention. 

On the other hand, of course, looks do matter. They can tell us a lot about a person’s habits, lifestyle, values, and health. I love to do visual diagnosis in my practice, looking at things like the whites of the eyes, the tongue, health of the hair, skin and nails. 

However, if we stop there, if we choose something as subjective as “being overweight” as a decider for whether a person is trustworthy there is no wisdom there, there is just surface-level preferences. One person could look overweight but be quite vital, radiant, and embodied and the other could be really toned, thin, and conventionally the “right size” but could have really low energy, a dullness behind their eyes, and be disassociated. Is their weight really what you want to judge your deeming of trustworthiness on? 

The other piece is that weight gain is not about eating too much or exercising too little. It is an energy management issue. Most of the women who are overweight I see in my practice are eating far too little nutrient dense food. A big reason they aren’t eating enough is because of sentiments like this post shared. Because there is this collective program that says “fat people are lazy pieces of shit who stuff their faces all day,” so, as a collective, we have stopped eating, to the detriment of our own vitality, lest we become one of those fat lazy people. 

We are not fat because we eat too much and lack discipline, we are fat because most of the food easily available to us is toxic and we are burnt out. Our energy management systems cannot regulate our energy levels because of toxins in our food and environment, shortage of connection to nature, lack of nutrient dense food, and our sedentary lifestyles (this doesn’t mean we need more intense exercise).

I am not blaming the government or big food or big pharma, we are responsible for ourselves always, but we do have to actually understand where these issues originated if we have any hope of reversing them. 

As a woman, to lose weight in a sustainable way that works with your wise and beautiful body, you need to be eating enough nutrient dense food on a consistent basis, moving your body in a way that feels good on a consistent basis, and spending lots of time in nature. I truly believe given enough time (this may be years) ninety percent of weight issues would regulate.

You do not need to go on a diet or deprive yourself or force yourself into some sort of box that doesn’t fit. This is just the same old same old. It may work in the short term but it will never works in the long term. The only way out is through. The only true way to work with the body is the long game. 

Which brings me to the next thing; weight gain can may be the needed crucible, in itself. For me, having lived in a body that was conventionally attractive and the “right” size for most of my adult life which required a lot of force, manipulation, and discipline in the forms of dieting (basically starving myself) and intense exercise, to let my body gain weight, take up space, and fill out was actually the transformational crucible I needed and am still undergoing.

As I released my punishing tendencies, allowed myself to see the grip with which I was living my life, the way I wanted to temper the energy of Life itself from flowing through me through controlling my food intake and movement and let go; I have gained weight. A lot of weight. I know it’s my body telling me something.

I know I will not be this weight forever. I know I take impeccable care of my body. I feed her with nutrient dense food, consistently. I move throughout the day and build muscle in a way that allows for my body to feel juicy and strong. I prioritize rest and working with my hormonal cycles. I focus on my felt sense of radiance and vitality.

And, other than my weight, I can say, after years of working towards this, I am incredibly healthy. My skin is plump and radiant. My hair is long and strong. My cycles are painless and consistent. I sleep deeply and well. I have good energy levels throughout the day.

And all this was achieved gently and without any force over the last three years.  I am still trusting this process. I am still committed to the long game. I am listening deeply to myself and willing to hold myself with such gentle care and trust of the ancient wisdom of healing that lives in every single one of my cells.

Since the majority of my weight gain about 3 years ago, I have lost 20 lbs. This seems to be the rate at which my body can lose weight in a sustainable, non forceful way. Everyone wants to lose 20 lbs a month, but this is stressful on the body. It takes energy to burn fat and process what is stored in that fat (toxins, estrogen, etc). And if you don’t have that energy or you get it from an unsustainable source, it will almost a hundred percent of the time, come back.

In the process I have learned what it’s like to live in a body that isn’t the ideal. I have softened and learned about my own judgments of myself and where I placed my value of self in my appearance. I have learned to love myself deeper than I ever could have if I had not gained this weight. 

Through the process of weight gain, I have learned to trust myself most of all. And it continues to be an invitation into more trust, more gentleness, and a radical choice of letting my body go through her process while just holding the position of: you deserve to eat, you deserve to rest, you deserve to open, you deserve to be trusted. 

I am not suggesting that gaining weight is something every woman should do. It is just my ongoing journey of trusting myself.

If there is anyone we can trust across the board, it is people who trust themselves, not their minds, but their inner Knowing. As my teacher Perri Chase just said in her writing on this same subject, “trust is an inside job.”

There are no clear delineations based on appearance that could direct us to who to trust and who not to trust; there is only that quiet whisper than lives within our bones and tissues, that Gnows. 

When we trust our inner gnowing, we will always know what to say, who to connect with, and where to go. And we get to know that through brining our Soul deeper into our physical form, which could come through physical illness, weight gain/loss, and any other experience that asks us to trust in the face of our mind’s doubt. 

Discussion about this podcast

Matriarch by Clara Wisner
Matriarch by Clara Wisner
This podcast transmits the nourishment of the mother and matriarch. I read my writing about the medicine of motherhood, nourishing the the female body, and the deep value and necessity of sacred maternal love. We are the return of the Mother.