Matriarch by Clara Wisner
Matriarch by Clara Wisner
The Wisdom of Weight
0:00
-5:45

The Wisdom of Weight

why we gain weight, why can't lose it, and what we make that mean about us
Transcript

No transcript...

*I shared this on Instagram a couple days ago and am resharing here because it’s gotten a lot of action and I’m announcing a free class I’m teaching tomorrow.

I got a question from a follower yesterday, “why are we still fat when we eat well and move our bodies?”

This question has been the source of so much inspiration for me since yesterday because it’s actually a question I have been asking myself for almost two years now.

I have been deep in the practice of trusting and loving my body. I wrote this piece when the bulk of the weight gain started.

I have been asking myself: if I trust my body and I love my body and I know I am providing my body with what she needs on a regular basis, why would my body put on weight and keep the weight on?

I have had many tender moments, lots of confusion, lots of looping thoughts about what if I’m all wrong and I need to just commit to a diet and exercise routine.

I have thought to myself many times that I need to DO something about this!

But then I come back to what to I know to be true. I come back to the truth that my body loves me and I love her and there is actually no way that what she undergoing isn’t the most intelligent thing for her to be doing with what she has and where she is.

Our bodies are of the unconscious realm. They are the results of our maternal lineage; the matter and the Ma. The weight that I have gained and continue to hold is not just a result of my choices in the last couple years, it’s the result of the choices I made in my 20’s and the choices my mother made in her 20s, and the choices her mother made in her 20’s.

Our bodies are our karma.

The way our body looks and functions now is the result of so much more than just what we eat and how much we move.

Most women who are overweight actually under eat which leads to a down regulated metabolism. So much of my weight gain has been the result of a constricted relationship with food for most of life and constantly trying to make myself smaller.

Our bodies are wise. Women who are fat are not less worthy of love and do not have something wrong with them. Our bodies are neutral. They are doing their best and always have been.

Being overweight is just a sign that our energy utilization systems are not functioning well.

In my experience, it is a result of our bodies giving us signs to slow down and listen and us choosing to not listen again and again, until our body believes it needs to put on a whole lot of extra cushion to pad sweet selves from the harshness we subject ourselves to through crash diets, brutal exercise regimes, starvation/binge cycles, substances, harsh inner critics, and living lives that do not respect our feminine physiology.

The solution isn’t going to be simple and it’s going to require a lot of self love, trust, and true mental and physical rest along with beautiful, joy filled movement.

It’s going to require changing how we view and enjoy food, movement, life and our bodies themselves.

Come to class this Friday, April 19th, 11-1pm PDT (if you can’t come I will send out a replay that will be available until the following Friday) where I will be unpacking this further and sharing more of my story.

Register for the class

Register

0 Comments
Matriarch by Clara Wisner
Matriarch by Clara Wisner
This podcast transmits the nourishment of the mother and matriarch. I read my writing about the medicine of motherhood, nourishing the the female body, and the deep value and necessity of sacred maternal love. We are the return of the Mother.